Rural Northern Immigration Pilot

Through the Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot, the Government of Canada works with small and remote communities in Ontario, Western Canada and the three territories to attract and retain foreign workers.

The Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot (RNIP) is community-driven,
which means participating communities take the lead in attracting new
immigrants and matching them with local job vacancies, promoting a
welcoming community, and connecting newcomers to established members of
the community and local settlement services.

Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot — Participating Communities

The following 11 communities are participating in the pilot:

  1. North Bay, Ontario
  2. Sudbury, Ontario
  3. Timmins, Ontario
  4. Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
  5. Thunder Bay, Ontario
  6. Brandon, Manitoba
  7. Altona/Rhineland, Manitoba
  8. Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
  9. Claresholm, Alberta
  10. Vernon, British Columbia
  11. West Kootenay (Trail, Castlegar, Rossland, Nelson), British Columbia